Just A Thought: New Year Resolutions

Good morning everyone, how are you all doing?  Most of you are probably asleep right now but I’m obviously not.  Usually around this time of the morning, my head is full of ideas to expand my brand and grow my fitness training business.  If I’m not writing or researching, I’m most likely doing something with advertising.

Tonight, or morning, I had a random thought.  Today is the last day of the first week of 2016, which is also my wife and I 10 year wedding anniversary, and I have heard so many different New Year resolutions. When I sit here and think about it, some of those resolutions are the exact same as the 2015 resolutions.  My question is, why is that?

Normally I don’t make resolutions because usually by the end of January, they are all but forgotten about.  To those that make resolutions, I challenge you to stop right now.  Don’t make resolutions, set goals and everyday do at least 1 thing that will help you reach them.  If December 31st rolls around and you haven’t reached your goal yet, don’t panic.  I want you to continually build on the foundation that you’ve laid in the previous year.  The key to doing that is to lay a solid foundation.  Learn as much as you can about whatever your goal may be.  Research, study, and pick others brains that have already done what you’re trying to accomplish.

Stopping and starting over every year will get you nowhere very fast if year after year you find yourself making the same resolution.

 

Devrin D. Batiste Sr.

About batistefitness

I am an ISSA Certified Fitness Trainer. My goals are to help my client reach their ultimate fitness goals and to one day open my own full scale fitness center.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Faith, Life, Self Help and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just A Thought: New Year Resolutions

  1. Jonathan James Olivier says:

    You make a great point. The idea with resolutions is silly in that, if it’s a change you want to make why do you have to wait for the year to start over to do it? What is January 1st our national, “make myself better for a month” day? The key to any life change is to make it reasonable and take it one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

