My Thoughts: Fitness in Louisiana

It’s 12:55 a.m. and my wife and kids have been sleeping for a few hours now.  I’m lying in bed with The Flintstones on the television and some concerning thoughts in my mind.  For those that don’t know, I live in the small south Louisiana city of Laplace.  Residing about 30 minutes outside of New Orleans, depending on how fast you drive.  The reason my location is important is because of the way that it ties in with the topic of this post.

I’m pretty sure that most of you are aware of the culture here in south Louisiana, especially when it comes to our food.  I must say that the food here is unlike no other.  We either deep fry almost everything here or cover it in some type of gravy.  Honestly, I, as well as most others, really love the food here but it makes me wonder something.  With all of this deep fried and smothered in gravy food, does anyone ever think about what is it doing to our bodies?  In most cases, I can tell you no they don’t.  There are some that realize how unhealthy the food really is, but they just don’t care.  This made me think even deeper.  If most people feel this way about the food then how do they feel about exercising.

From my perspective, fitness in Louisiana is not taken nearly as serious as it should.  Don’t get me wrong, there are  lot of people that do take fitness seriously but there are many more that don’t.  I can’t tell you the number of conversations that I’ve had where someone told me about what they can’t or won’t stop eating.  When I ask do they at least exercise, the most popular answer is that they don’t have the time.  I’ve had people tell me that they have to die from something so why work out.  At that point all I can do is shake my head.  How can they give up or not care so easily? Is that way of thinking confined to just this region?  I would surely like to know.

Hopefully there can be a change in the thinking of the majority of the people here.  While the food is very good here, we must understand that it comes with a price.  Engaging in an exercise regimen would definitely dampen some of the effects of unhealthy eating habits but diet and exercise together is much more effective.

Anyway these are my thoughts of fitness in Louisiana.  Feel free to comment below and thank you all!!!

Devrin D. Batiste Sr.

 

 

About batistefitness

I am an ISSA Certified Fitness Trainer. My goals are to help my client reach their ultimate fitness goals and to one day open my own full scale fitness center.
This entry was posted in Health & Fitness, Health and Fitness, Healthy Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Thoughts: Fitness in Louisiana

  1. kdmick says:

    That sounds very frustrating. I’m from Idaho and I feel like they way most of us stay active is engaging with our surroundings (hiking mountains, biking trails, swimming in lakes, all that jazz.) Maybe if you want people to engage in exercise, you need to find ways to integrate it into their hobbies so its something they want to do. Maybe you could develop programs that make engaging in outdoor activities more accessible. I hope you find a way to change the culture without losing the culture!

    • That sounds like a great idea. The problem is that the people that are already into fitness are the only ones doing those hobbies…

      I have to figure out a way to change their way of thinking first

Leave a Reply

