Lift That Weight Woman!!!!

I have a question for the ladies.  How many of you go to the gym, take a look at the treadmills and ellipticals, then glance over at the weights only to hop on the treadmill or elliptical for a marathon of cardio?  If I had to guess, I would say of 90% of the ladies that will read todays post.

About a week ago, I spoke with a lady in the gym where I currently train and she said that she will leave the weights alone for a little while.  When I asked her why, she said that her muscles are getting hard.  She told me that she is feeling better and her clothes are fitting better also but she doesn’t want the muscle.  I asked her why not and she said that she doesn’t want to look like a man.

Now I know that you all would like to know how the rest of the conversation went, but after you read this you will have a pretty good idea of how it went.  Ladies, I do not know where the assumption that weights will make you look manly comes from but it is totally FALSE!!!!  You can bench press 225 lbs, squat 315 lbs, deadlift 400 lbs, and do all of the bicep curls that you want and not EVER look like a man.  Weight training will only help you lose body fat faster than just doing cardio and it will also help you get stronger.  Now when I say weight training, I do not mean working out with a 5 lb dumbbell.  You have to  use some real weight that will challenge you to get better.

Remember that just about anything that you do burns calories.  You even burn calories while you are sitting down watching television.  By challenging yourself with heavier weight, you will actually burn more calories than using light weight.  Because it takes more energy to move heavy weight, your body will burn more calories.

As for the ladies that say they only want to tone up, I have a question.  Do you understand what toning up actually is?  If you do not know, toning up is another word for building muscle and that will only come from weight training.  You can take two ladies that are the same height, same weight, same age, and eat the exact same foods.  Give one lady a cardio only workout and give the other lady a workout with cardio and weight training. Guess what, their bodies will look totally different from one another.  The lady that does only cardio may have low body fat but in addition to losing fat, she will also lose muscle. She will most likely look flat and shapeless.  On the other hand, the lady that does cardio and weight training will have low body fat, very nice muscle tone, and she will maintain her curves.

The reason that you won’t ever look like a man by weight training is pretty simple.  God did not give you the right hormones that will make you look like one.  That hormone, testosterone, was given to the males.  Now I know your next question will be, How come some of those ladies that are bodybuilders look like men?  My answer to that question is…… Testosterone.  Yes, the very same hormone that I said God gave to the males.  This testosterone that those ladies have are not naturally occurring.  They have to inject into their bodies.  Understand now? Great!!!!

Now that you all have a better understanding of why you should weight train and what it does for you, I hope that you can apply this to your training routine to help you reach your goals.  Now get in the gym and LIFT THAT WEIGHT WOMAN!!!!

About batistefitness

I am an ISSA Certified Fitness Trainer. My goals are to help my client reach their ultimate fitness goals and to one day open my own full scale fitness center.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Health and Fitness, Healthy Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lift That Weight Woman!!!!

  1. Marina Leo says:

    This is a great blog. I have now started lifting heavy weights two weeks ago. I can’t wait to see the difference in my physique.

  2. Deanna says:

    Ok I’m ready! What do I need to do to start my transformation?

  3. Deanna says:

    Ok I’m ready! What do I need to do to start my transformation? How much weight should I be using? Questions, questions, & more questions.

Leave a Reply

