It Starts In The Mind

Hello everyone!!!!  I know it has been a very long time since my last post but here I am.  Just to let you all know, I have been very busy growing my fitness training and while I have grown quite a bit, I’m still not where I want to be just yet.  Anyway, how have you all been?

Today I will talk about the secret to a great workout.  One day before I went to the gym, I told my wife that I have to get ready to go and get my workout in.  She asked me what do I mean by get ready.  Seeing that I already had my gym clothes on, she was kind of puzzled. I told her that I just can’t go to the gym and start working out.  I have to prepare myself first.  Now I know that you all are wondering what the hell am I talking about right?  Here we go……

MENTAL PREPARATION

Long before I hop in my Avalanche and take my daily trek to my gym, I start my mental preparation.  To me, this is what can make or break my workout.  I visualize my workout for that day and go through it in my head first.  Imagining that I’m in the gym, I see the other people there working out and I picture myself going through every rep of every set.  This allows me to not only learn to block out distractions when I actually do work but it also helps me get in and out the gym without spending a whole bunch of time in there.

Once I’m done with my visualization, its time to ride. Now lately when I’m riding solo, I have been listening to talk radio and sports show because of the lack of quality music and there is a certain station out here that seems to play the same stuff over and over again.  That is where my playlist on my phone and my headphones come in.  Once I put on my headphones, I can feel the music that I’m listening to and it seems to get me in my zone.  From then on, its all business.

I am now ready to go into beast mode. My visualization is done and my playlist is bumping through my ears so now its time to throw some weight around.  I find that this is when I have my best workouts and there are some times when I can workout without my music and still get a great workout.  Having my headphones on has another distinct advantage also.  When people see you headphones on, they are less likely to interrupt your workout because they feel that you can’t hear them talking so they tend to leave you alone.

FINAL WORD

I realize that everyone responds to different stimuli to get them going.  This method of mental preparation works very good for me but for someone else they may need something more or something less.  People please remember that everyone is different and these are my thoughts.  You have to find out what works for you.  If you find that this method works great for you then go right ahead and use it and if it don’t work, don’t do it.

Thank y’all ladies and gentlemen and as always…….

BE BLESSED!!!!!

About batistefitness

I am an ISSA Certified Fitness Trainer. My goals are to help my client reach their ultimate fitness goals and to one day open my own full scale fitness center.
This entry was posted in Health & Fitness, Health and Fitness, Healthy Living, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

