Gettin’ Swole

Good evening and welcome to another evening with Batiste Fitness.  In todays edition we will talk about how to build quality muscle mass without using steroids or pro hormones.  I know that muscle building will probably cater more to the men but women are also welcome to follow my advice.  Besides, there are plenty of ladies out there that are trying to build muscle just like the fellas.

My muscle building routine is a 3 or 4 day training split.  That means that I train either 3 or 4 days a week with at least a day of rest in between.  I like to perform 3 sets of 10 repetitions for each exercise except leg and abdominal exercises.  For my legs, I prefer to go upwards of 18 to 20 repetitions and I do abdominal exercises until failure.  The reason is because legs and abs are what is considered endurance muscles.  We use them so often that we must work them a little harder than all other muscles.  Another reason is that the leg muscles are the largest muscle group in the body.  Why would you work the largest muscle group with the same amount of reps as the smallest such as the arms?

I divide my workout into 3 groups and that is how I plan my workouts.  Group 1 is Chest and Triceps.  Those are the muscle that I usually work on Monday.  Tuesday is a rest day so that my body can recover.  Group 2 is Legs and Shoulders on Wednesday followed by another rest day on Thursday.  On Fridays I work my Back and Biceps.  Saturday I either rest up or do a light workout to supplement of the previous ones.  Sunday is my day of relaxation.  I don’t workout, I eat whatever I want, and I do what I want to do on Sunday.  I’m at the point where I can have a cheat day for meals and Sunday is usually that day.  I don’t suggest any of you that are just starting out with your workout to incorporate a cheat day.  You have to go a couple of weeks before your cheat day comes.

As far as my workout supplements go, I use protein, Kre-Alkalyn (creatine), and a pre workout.  I take my pre workout 30 minutes before my workout on an empty stomach.  Its important to wait a few hours after eating to take your pre workout so that you can feel the full effect.  Its no fun taking it right after you eat and then feel the effects of your pre workout after your workout is over.  That is especially aggravating if you take it at night because you will lose  a ton of sleep.  After my pre workout, I take 1 Kre-Alkalyn capsule with some water and then I head to the gym.  Immediately upon finishing, I drink my protein and take another Kre-Alkalyn capsule.  It is also a good idea to drink more protein right before bedtime time so that your body won’t start burning your newly acquired muscles while you sleep.

There are many types of proteins, creatines, and pre workout, so you just have to find the one that works for you.  Personally I prefer to buy my supplements online because I can get them a whole lot cheaper.  If you can’t afford to wait for them to arrive then you can hit up a local vitamin store or something.

Another MAJOR factor when it comes to building muscle is your nutrition.  You can workout all you want but if you are not eating enough, you won’t build muscle.  This is a very important step that you do no want to ignore.  Remember the saying “You are what you eat?”  You all have no idea how true this is.  If you eat a sloppy diet, you’re going to get sloppy results.  I can’t say it any better than that.

I hope that you ladies and gentlemen that are trying to build some high quality muscle mass find this article helpful in your journey.  As always, I welcome any questions, comments, or suggestions.  Once again I want to thank each and every one of you for tuning in and good luck in your endeavours.

About batistefitness

I am an ISSA Certified Fitness Trainer. My goals are to help my client reach their ultimate fitness goals and to one day open my own full scale fitness center.
This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

