Muscle Building VS Strength Training: What’s Better?

Good evening everyone.  Welcome to a late night edition of Batiste Fitness.  Tonight I will explain the difference between muscle building and strength training workouts.  I have been approached by many people over the past few months wanting to know which would be better for them.  If any of you have been wondering which workout is best for you then reading this post is where you should be.  As always, I would like to thank all of you for the support and keep reading the blog.  Remember that questions and comments are always welcomed here.

What workout can I do to get bigger?  What should I do to get stronger?  These are some of the questions that people ask me every day.  My response to them is, what are you trying to accomplish?  I ask them several questions before I give them my suggestion. The answers that I get help me to suggest what route they should take.  For those who do not know, a rep is how many times you lift a weight in a set.  For example, I am currently doing a 12 week muscle building routine.  My exercises call for 4 sets at 10 – 12 reps.  That means that I select a weight that I can only lift 10 – 12 times.  That’s one set and that is also going to failure.  Failure is not when you start to feel the muscle burning but when your muscle won’t allow you to lift the weight for one more rep.  I do all my workouts to failure if you all would like to know.  I feel that if you’re not working until failure then you’re wasting valuable time in the gym.   Muscle building workouts and strength training workouts have some similarities but they also have their differences.  One similarity in muscle building and strength training is to always go to failure.  If you want to see maximum results in your efforts, keep this in mind as you start your journey.

There are several differences in muscle building and strength training workouts.  The type of workout that I would suggest are very different.  For muscle building, I would suggest that you do a compound exercise with two isolation exercises for each muscle group.  A compound exercise will hit the main muscle that you are working as well as other muscles that assist the main one and the isolation exercises will focus more on one specific muscle.  Some compound exercises are squats, bench press, and deadlifts.  Some isolation exercises are curls, leg extensions, and hamstring curls.  Of course there are way more but I’m just giving a few examples.  In a strength building workout, I would suggest that you stick with compound movements.  Compound movements will get you a whole lot stronger in less time than isolation movements.  Since you are using more muscles when you’re doing compound movements, your overall strength will increase drastically.  As with muscle building, I would suggest that you train until failure BUT be very careful while doing so.  Since you will be training for strength, you rep ranges will be from 5 – 8 reps and the weight will be a lot heavier.  I would suggest that whether you are muscle building or strength training, PLEASE use a spotter that you can trust.  There is nothing worse than having a spotter that will not pay attention to what you’re doing.  It is very important that you have a spotter especially when you are training for strength.  I can not stress this enough.

Well I have covered some very important information but I’m pretty sure that some of you will have some questions for me.  Do not hesitate to ask them.  I will answer them as expeditiously as I possibly can.  Let your comments, questions, or topic suggestions in the comment box below and don’t forget to follow me.  Thanks everyone!!!!

 

About batistefitness

I am an ISSA Certified Fitness Trainer. My goals are to help my client reach their ultimate fitness goals and to one day open my own full scale fitness center.
This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Muscle Building VS Strength Training: What’s Better?

  1. Fat Burning Sally says:

    I do agree with all of the ideas you have offered on your post. They are really convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too short for starters. Could you please prolong them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

  2. diet 360 says:

    It is perfect time to make some plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy. I’ve learn this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some attention-grabbing issues or tips. Maybe you could write subsequent articles regarding this article. I want to read more things approximately it!

  3. Undeniably believe that that you said. Your favourite reason appeared to be at the web the simplest thing to have in mind of. I say to you, I definitely get irked at the same time as people think about worries that they just don’t recognise about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest as neatly as defined out the whole thing with no need side effect , folks could take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thank you

  4. I like the helpful information you supply on your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and test once more right here frequently. I’m slightly certain I’ll be told many new stuff proper here! Best of luck for the following!

  5. I have read a few just right stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much effort you set to make one of these great informative site.

  6. Magnificent website. Plenty of helpful information here. I’m sending it to a few pals ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks to your sweat!

  7. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all people you really recognise what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also discuss with my website =). We will have a hyperlink change agreement between us

Leave a Reply

